Beach House Park
Beach House Park is Worthing’s Premier Park and the home of Flat Green Bowling. It was purchased from the Beach House Estate in 1922 and opened to the public in spring 1924. The Park is located between Brighton Road to the South and Lyndhurst Road to the North opposite Worthing Hospital.
The park contains four top quality bowling greens.
In addition to the bowling greens there are ornamental plantings including herbaceous borders, mature and interesting tree species, Spring and Summer bedding and a line of ornamental Acer cappadocium leading to the charming and picturesque “Old Pavilion” in the Centre of the park.
The site contains ample pay and display car parking at the northern end (Lyndhurst Road) but the surrounding roads lie within the West Sussex County Council car park zone and parking is restricted to permit holders or short term pay and display parking. For more information please see car park locations, prices and opening times.
Palm Court is a newly opened Cafe/Restaurant based in the revamped Old Pavilion at the Northern end of Beach House Park. The Concession will be open all day serving coffees and breakfasts, lunches, evening meals and is licensed to serve alcohol. They have developed an attractive outdoor seating area facing the bowling greens.
Bowling at Beach House Park takes place between late April and October each year. Worthing Bowls Club and Homefield Park Bowls club, who are based in the Park sell season tickets and make their own arrangements for allocating play at the four bowling greens as part of a self-management arrangement between the clubs and the Council.
Members of the public who wish to play are welcome to turn up daily and make arrangements direct with the bowling clubs and pay their fee to play bowls. Mats, shoe hire and jacks are available for those who wish to just turn up and play.
Should anybody not be able to play due to there being no bowling club official in attendance, please contact the Parks Group and we will pass on your details to the bowls clubs so they can make arrangements with you direct.
The Park is framed by trees on its East and West boundaries. The ornamental South end of the Park is centred on the Bird Memorial with symmetrical stands of London Plane planted in 1992 surrounding it. The bedding schemes are also symmetrical throughout.
A large double herbaceous border separates the ornamental area from the Bowls green section.
The centre walk between the greens is a mass of colour all year long with its beds up each side with Acer cappadocicum (Cappadocian Maple) avenues through.
The Park is punctuated with many free standing cast iron planters with various three dimensional floral features fixed to them.
Many mangers, self watering hanging baskets and roof containers feature during the summer.
To further enhance the landscape within the parks and open spaces it is possible to sponsor hanging baskets and bedding schemes.
The tennis courts are currently unavailable to hire at Beach House Park.
The ornamental planting includes a “Tree of Life” Japanese flowering cherry which was planted a few years ago as a symbolic reference to the millions who died in the Holocaust and other genocides. Holocaust Memorial Day is held each year on 27th January around the time of the anniversary of the liberation of the Nazi death camp, Auschwitz-Birkenau. The purpose of the tree of life is to help to overcome prejudice, discrimination and racism in modern society. People are invited to write a message for peace and tie it to the Tree of Life for others to read.
For more information please visit the Holocaust Memorial Day Trust website.
The park is used as a walkthrough to the beach, nearby Splash Point swimming pool and the hospital and is open 365 days per year from 7.30am until dusk.
In the centre of the formal gardens, there is a memorial to war pigeons: birds used during World War II to carry messages, explosives and other items, in some cases on secret missions. Described as "splendidly conceived and charming" it is thought to be the only such memorial in Britain. The 'Warrior Birds' memorial was promoted and commissioned by actress Nancy Price and members of the People's Theatre in London. Local sculptor Leslie Sharp started work on the memorial in 1949, and it was unveiled on 27th July 1951 by the Duke and Duchess of Hamilton.
As originally designed, the memorial consisted of a circular mound planted with shrubs and a rockery with streams and pools of water, two boulders with carved wording, and two stone pigeons. The pigeon sculptures have since been stolen and not replaced, and a fence was added later around the mound. One stone bears the words in memory of warrior birds who gave their lives on active service 1939-45 and for the use and pleasure of living birds; the other reads "a bird of the air shall carry the voice and that which hath wings shall tell the matter", which is a quote from the Book of Ecclesiastes in the Old Testament (Ecclesiastes Chapter 10, verse 20).
A metal panel next to the entrance gate in the fence repeats most of the details from the first stone. The stones, which were quarried from the Forest of Dean, were refurbished and repainted in 1999 and Worthing Borough Council continues to maintain the memorial with Community help from the Scouts.
Contact Parks Group
Adur & Worthing Councils,
9 Commerce Way,
Lancing Business Park,